Author Bios


Chris Fink is the author of two short story collections, Farmer’s Almanac: A Work of Fiction (2013) and Add This to the List of Things That You Are (2019). He is a professor of English and Environmental Studies at Beloit College and editor-in-chief of the Beloit Fiction Journal. He is also a regular contributor to Northern Public Radio, where he produces monthly radio essays about the intersection of the self and the natural world. A journal editor for more than 20 years, Fink founded two national short story prizes, the John Steinbeck Award, and the Hamlin Garland Award. Recent stories of his have appeared in the Mississippi Review, New Orleans Review and Witness.


Kristen Iversen is the author of several award-winning books including Full Body Burden: Growing Up in the Nuclear Shadow of Rocky Flats (now a forthcoming documentary and tv series); Molly Brown: Unraveling the Myth; and Shadow Boxing: Art and Craft in Creative Nonfiction. Her work has appeared in The American Scholar, The New York Times, The Guardian, The Nation, Hotel Amerika, and elsewhere. Forthcoming books include a literary biography of Nikola Tesla, a collection of personal essays, and two co-edited anthologies. Kristen is Professor of Creative Writing at the University of Cincinnati, where she is a fellow at the Taft Humanities Center and Literary Nonfiction editor of The Cincinnati Review. For more information visit


David Lazar’s books include I’ll Be Your Mirror: Essays and Aphorisms from the University of Nebraska Press, Who's Afraid of Helen of TroyAfter Montaigne, Occasional Desire: Essays, The Body of Brooklyn, Truth in Nonfiction, Essaying the Essay, Powder Town, Michael Powell: Interviews, andConversations with M.F.K. Fisher. Nine of his essays have been “Notable Essays of the Year” according to Best American Essays, including 2016-18. He is Professor of Creative Writing at Columbia College Chicago. Lazar is founding editor of the literary magazine Hotel Amerika, now in its eighteenth year, and series editor, with Patrick Madden, of 21st Century Essays, at Ohio State University Press. He was a Guggenheim Fellow in Nonfiction for 2015-16.


Sandra Meek has published six books of poems, including Still (Persea, January 2020), An Ecology of ElsewhereRoad Scatter, and the Dorset Prize-winning Biogeography. She also edited an award-winning anthology, Deep Travel: Contemporary American Poets Abroad. Recipient of an NEA Poetry Fellowship, the Poetry Society of America’s Lucille Medwick Memorial Award, three Georgia Author of the Year awards, and two Peace Corps Writers awards, she is co-founding editor of Ninebark Press, director of the Georgia Poetry Circuit, poetry editor of the Phi Kappa Phi Forum, and Dana Professor of English, Rhetoric, and Writing at Berry College. Visit her